‘Vaj-Nut Hut’ by Estelle Birdy

‘The Tenant Joneses’ by Morgan Davies

‘Cream Horns’ by Eluned Gramich

‘Everything Pie’ by David McVey

‘Another One Bites the Dust’ by Kelly Van Nelson

‘Dead Sheep/Babies’ by Diana Powell

‘The Islanders’ by Julie Ann Rees

‘Blushing Rainwater’ by Kathryn Tann

‘The Puppet Mistress’ by Rebecca Trick-Walker

 ‘Beneath a Sky, Kingfisher Blue’ by Steve Wade

 ‘Table for One’ by Ben Wildsmith





Niall Griffiths was born in Liverpool and lives in mid-Wales. He is the author of many books, one of which won the Wales Book of the Year award and another of which was turned into a BAFTA-winning film, and all of which have been translated into several languages. He has given readings of his work all over the globe, from south Wales to New South Wales, from the Namib desert to the Greenland ice sheet, and in Pontypridd.


“I’m looking for stories that follow no formula and conform to no template but which stir the heart, explode the head, expand the soul and make the world a better place.”


  1. Your work must be original and written in English.
  2. We cannot accept stories for children or young adults.
  3. Maximum length for entries is 2500 words. There is no lower length. Entries should be typed in 12pt Times and double-spaced. Postal entries should be on A4 paper and printed on one side only (please send two copies of each entry if entering by post). There should be no personal details about the writer on the manuscript. Online entries must be submitted using the online submission form. For postal entries use the online entry form or write your poem title/s and full contact details on a separate sheet of paper.
  4. Closing date for receipt of entries is Monday July 1st, 2019.
  5. Entries can be made online or by post and are open to everyone (locally/nationally or internationally). There is no limit to the number of entries but there is a fee of £8 for each story submitted.  Entries submitted online must be paid for via PayPal or by debit/credit card (there is a PayPal button on the online entry page). Postal entries are payable by cheque or postal order.  Postal entries should be addressed to PENfro Short Story Competition, Rhosygilwen Mansion, Rhosygilwen, Rhoshill, Pembrokeshire SA43 2TW
  6. Entries must not have been previously published in print or online, including personal blogs or on social media, or been broadcast, or placed in a competition.
  7. There is an open theme.
  8. Entries will be read and judged anonymously, so do not put your name on your story.
  9. Entries will not be returned so please keep a copy. No corrections or alterations can be made after entries have been received.
  10. The prize will be publication in an anthology, to be launched at the Penfro Festival. Twelve of the winning stories will be published, with one overall winner, and a £25 fee will be paid to each winning writer, plus a copy of the book.
  11. By entering, competitors accept that prize-winning stories, with the authors’ names, may be published on the PENfro website and used in promotional material.
  12. Entries that fail to comply with rules and requirements will be disqualified. No correspondence can be entered into and the judge’s decision is final.
  13. The competition is open to anyone aged sixteen or over. Stories must not be currently submitted for publication or competition elsewhere.