PENfro Open Poetry Competition 2017

The PENfro Poetry Competition 2017

We are delighted to announce that our judge for this year, Susan Richardson, has drawn up a shortlist of poems which will now go through to the second round of judging to arrive at the First Prize, Runner up and Third Place in the compettiion which will be announced at PENfro Book Festival on September 9.  Click here for more


Susan Richardson3We are thrilled to announce that our poetry judge this year is Susan Richardson.
Susan is a poet, performer, editor and educator whose third collection of poetry, Skindancing, was published by Cinnamon Press in 2015. She is currently poet-in-residence with both the Marine Conservation Society and the global animal welfare initiative, World Animal Day, and poetry editor of Zoomorphic digital literary magazine.

Susan has performed at festivals throughout the UK, for organisations such as WWF and skindancing coverFriends of the Earth, on BBC 2, Radio 4 and at Universities both nationally and internationally. Her fourth collection of poetry, themed around endangered marine species, will be published in 2018.

'I'm looking for work that interprets the theme in creative and surprising ways, from retellings of old myths to the writing of brand-new myths for, and about, these uncertain times. I hope for poems that will keep me thinking long beyond the final line.'


Open Poetry Competition 2017

Judge: Susan Richardson

Prizes: 1st - £300; 2nd - £125; 3rd-£75. Entry fee: £4 per poem.

Closing date: Sunday, July 30th, 2017.

Maximum length: 40 lines.

Subject: Poems should be based, loosely, around a myth or legend.

Winners announced: Saturday 9, September 8th, 2017. This will take place at 3 pm in the Oak Hall when shortlisted poets will also have the chance to read their poems as part of a reading session, alongside Susan.

The competition is open to anyone aged 16 or over. Poems should be in English, they must not have been previously published, nor be currently submitted for publication or competition elsewhere.
Poems must be the original work of the entrant, they must be typed single spaced on A4 paper and be no longer than 40 lines. See RULES for full details


The easiest way to enter is online via our website. Just click here

Submit your payment via PayPal. If you do not have a PayPal account, don’t worry, you will be invited to set one up or you can just pay by debit or credit card.

How to Submit

Follow the instructions to upload your work online, one poem per document in Word or PDF format.


Pay by Paypal or credit card for online entries. Please ensure you have read the competition rules before you submit your poem/s 


Each poem must be on a separate sheet of paper, which must bear the title of the poem, but must NOT show the name of the entrant or any other form of identification. All entries will be judged anonymously.

Two copies of each poem entered should be submitted, on separate sheets.

Entries must be accompanied by a completed application form (downloadable here) and appropriate payment. All winners will be notified by email.

Entries must be accompanied by the entry fee: £4 for each poem entered. Cheques (sterling only) should be made payable to PENfro Book Festival.

Postal entries should be addressed to PENfro Poetry Competition, Rhosygilwen Mansion, Rhoshill, Pembs. SA432TW
We regret that we are unable to return poems or enter into any correspondence with entrants. Please keep a copy of your work.

Submissions that do not meet the Rules of Entry will be disqualified. Please make sure you:
• put the title of the poem/s you enter on the entry form
• send two copies of each poem, on separate sheets
• do not put your name or any identifying information on your poems – your name and address should only appear on the entry form

Details of the winners will be announced at PENfro Book Festival on Saturday 9th at 3pm September 2017 and will be published on the PENfro website.
Copyright remains with the authors, but PENfro Book Festival reserves the right to print winning poems on its website.
The judge’s decision is final.


Sponsors 2017

Back to top